April 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
[28] 29 30

No calendar events were found.

TDC is growing!  Tell your friends to visit and join up! 

Author Topic: Camera settings  (Read 3682 times)

Offline hwm3

• Café Moderator
Camera settings
« on: March 06, 2009, 07:40:23 PM »
OK, tomorrow is the first barrel race of the season and I'm wanting to take some pics. I'm using a Canon Rebel DSLR and the race is inside. I took a few last time we were at this arena, and they didn't turn out that great. Any suggestions on settings?

Oh, and I don't want to use the flash.

Offline Kitzy

• Administrator
  • OCDer formerly known as ESF
Re: Camera settings
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 08:02:56 PM »
It's all in the glass.  I'm new to DSLRs but I do know if you want to take good inside shots you need a fast lense.  Everything I've read says atleast a 2.8 lense but man they're expensive.  You need to keep the shutter speed fast while still letting the light in.  You can always play with the ISO to help boost the shutter speed.  Take everything I'm saying with a grain of salt because it's mostly things I've read as I'm trying to get better with my D80.  I definitely don't know what I'm doing yet.  If you have something like photoshop and you shoot in RAW, you can save a lot of you images that didn't come out quite right.  There's not much you can do if they're blurry but if they're too dark or bright oyu can adust a lot of the settings to really help bring back how it looked to the naked eye.  Sometimes even better.  I just got Photoshop CS4 a couple weeks ago and I really like it.  A lot better than CS2 I was using.  You ca't really appreciate the RAW format until you use a program like photoshop.
If you always do what you\'ve always done, you\'ll always get what you\'ve always got.

Offline Rollingrock

• Administrator
  • Milk was a bad idea.
    • The Detailer's Café