General Category > General Discussion

What do you do?

(1/11) > >>

Val3ntin0:
I'm bored and at work when a thought came across my mind, "What do the OCD'ers and other detailing-minded people on the forums do for a living?" Now obviously, there are a few professional detailers here but what do others do? Even if you're a professional detailer let us know and maybe tell us what your favorite vehicles are to work on. I'll start:

I'm a young electrical engineer that designs electrical generation and distribution systems for oil and gas facilities. My favorite ones to design are for offshore platforms as those are what we refer to as "island generation", meaning there are no outside power utilities tied in so it has to sustain itself via large turbine or diesel generators.

I don't play  :golf: but I do like  :fight: and  :beer:

Rollingrock:
sure, but when I tell people what I do I get blank stares....so here goes.

I am the Partner Development Manager for the SW and SE BU's for IBM Softwaregroup, Information on Demand, Responsible for Cognos Business Intelligence and Enterprise Planning, AKA CPM.

Ok....so that means.

I work for IBM in the Software Group, in the division that was recently bought by IBM called Cognos.  (Where i have worked for 5 years)

My role is to work with the resellers that sell our products.   I recruit, train, educate, motivate, act as liaison for them to the company and often I am looked at as a lobbyist for both the reseller and the company.  A mediator if you will for problems that come up in some sales cycles.   I do travel a lot and that is the downside.   

Spare time, we camp a lot and I train and sometimes race bicycles competitively (When I am not fat) I also happen to a CPP, (Certified Professional Photographer) but having shot for money in years.  Just have the cert still. 

How's that? 

;D

Man I need to add some more icons...

PWR KAT: