1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27
28 29 30

No calendar events were found.

The Cafe is OPEN
Detailing today? Check the Weather  http://www.weather.com/

Author Topic: PC Question/Help...  (Read 4828 times)

Offline Budha

• Café Member
PC Question/Help...
« on: March 12, 2012, 12:39:18 AM »
Ok fellas, I have a 6" PC 7336, which from what I understand was the previous model of the current 7424 series/packages. Being a woodworker, I have used this unit as a sander (even though the dust collector collar is still on it, I don't use it) for quite some time and it's still going strong. I recently replaced my 5" PC with a PC low profile 5" var speed random orbital unit, so I rarely break out the old 6".  The 7336 currently has the 6" 6-Hole Standard backing pad #18001 (hook & loop) w/ the 6" Random Orbit Sander Counter-Weight.

My question is - could I use this setup with the various pads or should I put on a flexible backing plate? Like the PC 6" 6-Hole Contour (used w/ 6" polishing pads) #18002 or one of the other brands. I don't plan on getting ridiculously into the detail world, but I figured since I already have this PC unit, I could use it.

*Before anyone questions the dust from being used as a sander contaminating the liquids and doing further paint damage, I take good care of my tools and keep them, along with my shop, as clean as you can for the type of environment. I'm constantly blowing it out w/ an air gun and will break it down and clean it thoroughly before using it to detail. It's been sitting for a while so the pics show a tad bit of dust but nothing major.

Dust collector piece loosened up for the pics...

Offline Too Stroked

• Café Moderator
  • Don't just be good at what you do - be the best!
Re: PC Question/Help...
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 06:09:27 AM »