1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30

No calendar events were found.

The Cafe is OPEN
Detailing today? Check the Weather  http://www.weather.com/

Author Topic: Starting off...  (Read 15285 times)

Offline Stealth

• Charter Member
  • Rookie
Starting off...
« on: January 22, 2011, 06:43:05 PM »
I just ordered from Detailer's Domain The Uber Porter Cable 7424XP Orbital Polisher Base Kit, along with their 20% off winter blues discount. Good deal. It comes with a 5" backing plate and four 5.5" pads, which I ordered green, blue, and two black.

I'll be getting a clay bar kit, some M105, M205, and some NXT2.0.

I'm new to this detailing stuff, but I think I'm heading in the right direction. I read and saved/printed the Detailer's Guide from here, it sure is a lot of info to absorb, but I think with it you guys help when I need it I'll be fine.

The main reason I decided to start this is my truck's paint is really starting to show swirls and the like. I just have to remember not to get carried away with the start so I won't mess anything up. I do have an old hood I'll be practicing on before I actually do let loose on the truck.

Here's a pic I shot today where you can see from a distance how bad the swirls and imperfections are. I'm too embarrassed to show a close up.  :doh:

Wish me luck on this new journey, and thanks for any tips you guys give me.  :beer:

Offline attworth

• Charter Member
  • 867-5309
Re: Starting off...
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2011, 08:50:32 PM »
Hey Stealth! Nice to see ya. I'm not sure if you remember me, but I'm the dumb young kid who bought that grille guard from you. It saved my truck by the way..

If you need any help, give me a shout. I'm down in Benbrook now so it'd be a short trip to see ya (unless you've moved)

Offline Stealth

• Charter Member
  • Rookie
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2011, 09:08:15 PM »